Multiwfn forum

Multiwfn official website: http://sobereva.com/multiwfn. Multiwfn forum in Chinese: http://bbs.keinsci.com/wfn. E-mail of admin: sobereva[at]sina.com

You are not logged in.

#1 2023-06-12 19:30:20

brunosamp

Charge density difference analysis for graphene

I am studying the PDOS (Partial Density of States) of a graphene oxide structure, with only hydroxyl groups.
To study the PDOS, it's useful to evaluate the charge transfer from the carbon to the OH functional group.
I understood how to perform the charge density difference map in a excitation process. But in my case, i just want to evaluate how the electron density is distributed towards that OH group.
1) Can i obtain the isosurface of charge density difference, in my case, using the method in 4.18.3 section.
2) Can i measure the amount of charge transfer (Q) from the carbon to the OH group using Multiwfn? I couldn't find something about this in the manual.

#2 2023-06-13 07:48:41

sobereva
Tian Lu (Multiwfn developer)
Website

Re: Charge density difference analysis for graphene

1 Please check Section 4.5.5 of Multiwfn manual, there is an example of plotting density difference map between fragments.

2 Calculating fragment charge of OH group. Assume that it is -0.2, that means 0.2 electron is transferred from carbons to OH.
You can manually sum up atomic charges to obtain fragment charge. A more convenient way is using option -1 of main function 7 to define a fragment first, then, after calculating atomic charges as usual, fragment charge will be directly printed.

#3 2023-06-14 17:05:58

brunosamp

Tian lu, thank you for your response! One question: for the second method, shouldn't i measure the charge in the carbon, in which the OH group is attached, without the OH group?