Multiwfn forum

Multiwfn official website: http://sobereva.com/multiwfn. Multiwfn forum in Chinese: http://bbs.keinsci.com/wfn. E-mail of admin: sobereva[at]sina.com

You are not logged in.

#1 2021-01-24 00:35:44

lmangin

Diffuse functions of Hydrogen atoms: s function or p function?

Dear all,

I am studying the mechanism of an organic reaction involving a hydride transfer.

Looking into the various basis sets on BasisSetExchange, I looked into the basis functions and coefficients for hydrogen atoms and am puzzled to notice this:
- the difference between 6-311+G** and 6-311++G** is an 's' function
- the difference between def2-TZVP and def2-TZVPD is a 'p' function

What is the reason for the differences in Pople vs. Karlsruhe basis sets?
Why is the diffuse function an s orbital in one case, and a p orbital in the other ?
How important is that difference and what impact will it have on the accuracy of the calculation?

Thanks in advance!

#2 2021-01-24 05:17:23

sobereva
Tian Lu (Multiwfn developer)
Website

Re: Diffuse functions of Hydrogen atoms: s function or p function?

The design idea of def2-D series of basis set is very different to common basis sets (such as 6-311G series), which are suitable for general calculation and the exponents are usually variationally optimized for representing electronic energy. The diffuse functions of def2-D basis set were specifically optimized for polarizabilty calculation, for hydrogen it is found that adding a 'p' diffuse function plays a much more significant role than adding a 's' diffuse function, therefore only 'p' diffuse function is supplemented to the original def2 basis set.

See J. Chem. Phys. 133, 134105 (2010) for more detail, which is the original paper of def2-D.

Since def2-D basis set doesn't aim at general purpose calculation, and the 's' diffuse function important for representing H- is not available, using it for studying hydride transfer is not recommended.

#3 2021-01-24 17:49:15

lmangin