Multiwfn forum

Multiwfn official website: http://sobereva.com/multiwfn. Multiwfn forum in Chinese: http://bbs.keinsci.com/wfn. E-mail of admin: sobereva[at]sina.com

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-03-30 05:46:20

max

generate excited state .wfn in orca

Dear Multiwfn users.

I am still relatively new to orca and am struggling to figure out how to get orca to generate common output files. Currently, I am trying to figure out how to generate excited state .wfn file to use in Multiwfn charge-transfer analysis based on electron density differences (Multiwfn section 4.18.3). The orca_2aim program takes the electron density from the .gbw file and replots as a .wfn. This makes it trivial to generate ground state .wfn file.

My issue is in finding a way to generate the excited state .gbw fill which can be converted to a .wfn from an existing TDDFT calculation? This was simple in Gaussian09 using TD(read, root=#, NonEqSolv) with the Dencity=Current and out=wfn but i can not find the equivalent operation in the orca manual. Does anyone know if this is possible in orca?

Best
Max

#2 2020-03-30 15:50:51

sobereva
Tian Lu (Multiwfn developer)
Website

Re: generate excited state .wfn in orca

Unfortunately, AFAIK there is no keyword for directly generating .wfn/.wfx file containing wavefunction (i.e. natural orbitals) of excited state calculated by TDDFT method. You may ask this on ORCA forum, developers may have some workarounds.

However, via Multiwfn it is possible to generate (unrelaxed) excited state wavefunction file based on output file and .molden file of ORCA. Below is an example.

Run below task

! PBE0 def2-SV(P) tightSCF miniprint nopop
%maxcore  1000
%pal nprocs   4 end
%tddft
nroots 3
tprint 1E-8
end
* xyz   0   1
O     -0.00000000   -0.00000000    0.11930801
H      0.00000000    0.75895306   -0.47723204
H     -0.00000000   -0.75895306   -0.47723204

Assume that output file is h2o.out, the gbw file is h2o.gbw. Then run

orca_2mkl h2o -molden