Multiwfn forum

Multiwfn official website: http://sobereva.com/multiwfn. Multiwfn forum in Chinese: http://bbs.keinsci.com/wfn. E-mail of admin: sobereva[at]sina.com

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-06-23 07:51:01

quoske

Transition dipole moment of organic molecules

Hi,

I'm a postgraduate student who is totally new to quantum chemistry calculation, and currently having trouble calculating transition moment of certain molecules.

I used Gaussian09/GaussView16 to calculate data shown below:
1. Geometry optimization of the ground state molecule using DFT.
2. Excited state of the optimized molecule using TDDFT by job type of "Energy"

Then I converted the result of data2 to ".fch" and tried to run a calculation in Multiwfn.

The commands I tried were:
18 // Electron excitation analysis
5 // Calculate transition electric dipole moments between...

However, after command 5 the program tells me to input path of Gaussian output file and I don't know what to do.
Does this mean that data2 calculated by Gaussian is invalid for the dipole moment calculation?

I apologize in advance if this question was too basic to ask on this forum.

Best regards

#2 2019-06-23 18:04:51

sobereva
Tian Lu (Multiwfn developer)
Website

Re: Transition dipole moment of organic molecules

Hi,

Please never use GaussView 16 to create keywords and submit task. I strongly always manually write proper keywords and manually submit task to Gaussian, in this case you can flexibly employ any keyword that you really need and the path of output file will be very clear.

There are many example Gaussian input files for performing electron excitation analysis in Multiwfn, for example, the "examples\excit\D-pi-A.gjf", please take this file as example.

Please also do not forget to carefully follow relevant examples in Section 4.18 of Multiwfn manual.

Best regards,

Tian

#3 2019-06-28 08:04:14

quoske

Thank you very much for quick response!!